With the April 19, 2024 release of the U.S. Department of Education’s (USDE) final Title IX rule enshrining protections for LGBTQ+ individuals, conservative state leaders, claiming the rule infringes on their state laws, are directing their school districts to disregard the rule. In fact, thus far at least five states (i.e., Florida, Louisiana, Montana, Oklahoma, and South Carolina) have recommended school district officials not to change their anti-sex discrimination policies.

Once published in the Federal Register, the rule gives schools and colleges until August 1, 2024 to comply.

The USDE warns schools that they must comply with the final regulations as a condition of receiving federal funds.

For more form K-12 Dive, click here.